Can I recover damages if I am injured by an uninsured driver?
Under Maryland law, all motor vehicles must carry liability insurance, which provides coverage for personal injury or property damage caused by the negligent operation of the vehicle. The required coverage limits for personal injury liability are $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident. Without the required insurance, a vehicle cannot be registered or the registration renewed in Maryland.
Unfortunately, many people break this law on a regular basis and drive without insurance. In the event of an accident caused by an uninsured driver's negligence, an injured victim may wonder how they will recover compensation for their lost wages, medical bills and pain and suffering.
Fortunately, Maryland law also requires all vehicles to carry uninsured motorist insurance. When someone is injured by an uninsured driver, they can collect compensation from the uninsured motorist coverage of their own policy. The required coverage mirrors the liability insurance requirement: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident. The uninsured motorist coverage basically provides the same benefits to the victim as the negligent driver's liability insurance should have.
The definition of an uninsured driver also includes a hit-and-run driver. Thus, if a person is injured by a negligent driver who flees the scene and is never identified, the injured person can make a claim against their own uninsured motorist coverage.
Insurance companies often attempt to minimize a victim's injuries in order to avoid paying full compensation on an uninsured motorist accident claim. The right approach could significantly increase an accident victim's chances of being fully compensated.